Uncategorized

Joining the world of 152m+ blogs

New Years resolutions.

Like most people in January, I welcomed the New Year in with a long list of resolutions and goals (more on these in a future post). And then I sat on my bum throughout January, eating left over Christmas cheese’s and chocolates, watching Christmas films and programmes we hadn’t had chance to watch yet and making our way through the stash of Christmas alcohol we had left. Needless to say if lazing around and getting fatter were my New Year’s resolutions I definitely stuck to them throughout January.

When February came I realised it was time to start making changes. I’ve been unhappy with my weight for around 2 years now and have done very little about it. I’m bridesmaid for my sister in August and then it’s the big 30 in September and I don’t want to look back on photos of these occasions and feel unhappy with the way I look.

So time to stop moaning and do something about it!  I joined a gym, bought some healthy cook books and decided to make some changes to my lifestyle. Not just to lose weight, but to change shape, to become stronger and leaner, to feel fit and healthier and to eat better (and to get abs of course, but we need to be realistic here!).

I was fairly good throughout February. I went to the gym between 1-3 times a week, tried to stop snacking (I am a serial snacker with crisps being my absolute favourite!) and starting investing a bit more time into researching healthy meals and different lifestyles (I can’t say the word diet, if I think I’m on a diet I’ll break it and eat a family sized bag of kettle chips within the hour!).

Now it’s turned March, I’ve lost around 8lbs so far since January and my belly is definitely less sticky out (a favourite technical term of mine) but I still huff and puff my way up the stairs (alright most of the time I take the lift), still finding it hard to resist junk food and still can’t run for more than about 3 minutes. I really need to up my game and set myself some goals to achieve.

That’s where this blog comes in. If I set myself some goals and post them on the internet for the world to see, hopefully I will actually achieve them. It will also achieve a separate goal I have for 2016 which is to start a blog!

So March is my new January, it is the month that I will start my get fit journey, I will start keeping track of my progress but also my setbacks and challenges. It is important to be honest, not just to other people but also to yourself, so no matter what, I promise I will always be honest with you. I’m not perfect, none of us are, so this blog will show you the real side of me and how easy/hard it is to lead a healthy lifestyle in a modern day world where we still have to work, do housework, look after families and get on with things!

Did you make any New Year’s resolutions? And more importantly have you stuck to them? Would love to hear about your tips for sticking to your resolutions!

Tasha xx

 

Below is a photo of Mike and Mollie unpacking the Christmas hamper! Food!!Christmas food

2 thoughts on “Joining the world of 152m+ blogs

  1. Your story is one I have heard countless times as a practicing physician. Becoming and maintaining good health (which includes weight management) requires a good deal of work and effort. It is an “ongoing” OBJECTIVE; not a GOAL. Goals have end points; objectives are lifestyle changes that produce continual benefits. I noticed you have begun to follow my blog. It will provide REALISTIC, ACHIEVABLE methods to help you reach the quality of life you seek. If you ever have any questions, please feel free to ask. If you ever have any personal experiences (beneficial or harmful) please feel free to share them with my readers. Everyone benefits as we learn from the different efforts that produce positive and negative results.
    Wishing you well on your journey.

    Like

    1. Hiya, thank you for your comments. Yes I suppose ‘goal’ was probably the wrong word to use as for me it is more about making permenant lifestyle changes not only to lose weight but to become healthier in general. I read a few posts on your blog so looking forward to having a good look at it over the next few days, I’m sure there will be plenty of tips and good advice that I can use to help my journey.
      Thank you

      Like

Leave a Reply

