Food · Reviews

Finding my food Mojo

I was very excited to hear a new restaurant, Mojo the Foodbar, had opened just outside of Newport City centre that offered afternoon tea. I don’t know about you but I love afternoon tea. Cute little finger sandwiches, scones with clotted cream and jam and miniature cakes that make you feel like you have giant hands.

Afternoon tea always makes me feel posh! Sipping tea from china cups with saucers, sandwiches with crusts removed and food arriving on tiered cake stands. It is the ultimate luxury and it makes you feel like a queen. And who better to take with you to give that queenie feeling than your Mum and your Nan.

My sister Tamsin and I had decided to treat them for Mother’s day, so we donned our glad rags and arrived at Mojos for our afternoon tea.

The restaurant is lovely inside. Very elegant, white table clothes, chandeliers and waiters and waitresses in smart uniforms. Our coats were taken and we were seated and presented with a box of flavoured teas to choose from. I don’t usually like flavoured teas, I keep it simple with English breakfast or plain green tea, but I thought I would be brave and try something new so choose a mango and strawberry tea, it was lovely.

The food arrived with the sandwiches first. I had called ahead to advise them that Tamsin is a vegetarian so they had prepared her a selection of meat free sandwiches and put them on her own separate slate (that’s right, slate not plate!). I thought this was a nice touch as too many times we have been lumbered with all the ham and pickles ones as there is never many meat free ones, sometimes we carnivores like cheese sandwiches  too! The rest of us had a mix of sandwiches including smoked salmon and cream cheese. If I thought I was brave choosing a flavoured tea, that was nothing compared to what I did next. I selected a salmon sandwich and put it on my plate!

You’re probably not very impressed by that. I should probably explain that I have a bit of a mental block when it comes to fish. At the age of 10 I decided I didn’t like fish anymore and point blank refused to eat any. I have spent the last 19 years telling myself I hate fish, without even knowing if I do or not and now I can’t bring myself to eat it. However, the more research I have been doing into eating a healthier diet, the more fish has been cropping up and I know the time is coming where I will have to face my fear and try and introduce it into my diet.

So this was the perfect opportunity. I cut the smallest slice of sandwich you have ever seen and with a bit of encouragement from my family (and the maître d’!) I put it in my mouth. I instantly had the reaction that my 5 year old daughter would have, I chewed it pulling faces and felt like I was going to be sick. Then I remembered where I was, queens don’t behave like this, they suck it up and eat the salmon! So I slowly ate the rest of the sandwich and guess what…I liked it! In fact I really liked it. Ok it was only a tiny amount but it was a good start. With this in mind I have decided to give myself a food challenge this month. I will find a recipe based around salmon and try to make it and see if I like it. If you have any good recipes please let me know as this is all new to me.

Finger sandwiches at Mojos
The salmon sandwich

 

The rest of the afternoon tea experience went well. Miniature egg custard and Victoria sponges, cupcakes and little popcorn cones that were very cute but very sickly as they were filled with cream. My only complaint was sometimes the music was a little loud, it would go from relaxing music to louder upbeat dance music in the middle of your conversation.

So thank you Mojo Foodbar, thank you for your lovely staff and thank you for the lovely food. We had a lovely time, felt like queens and you gave me the opportunity to try salmon! We are already planning our next trip to your restaurant so see you soon.

The Mojo Foodbar website is here: http://www.mojothefoodbar.com

If you’re in the area check it out, it’s amazing.

 

(The featured image is taken from Groupon. We purchased a Groupon deal to try this restaurant, you can find it here: https://www.groupon.co.uk/deals/mojo-the-food-bar-1 )

8 thoughts on “Finding my food Mojo

  1. Glad to see a new found interest in fish. It is a great source of protein and some fishes offer excellent sources of omega fats as well. Now, on the less clinical side, it also opens your world to many new choices in life.
    Stay healthy and happy!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, I had been for afternoon tea with her before and she had just been left with all the cheese sandwiches so I thought by calling ahead they would give her more choice, which they did so it worked out well (plus I got to have a cheese sandwich!). I bet the food over there is amazing, I think I would be the size of a house haha!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It is really delicious, and yes people gain weight here like CRAZY, but ironically enough we also have every kind of health food you could possibly think of. The problem with America is that fruits and veggies are SOOO expensive and unhealthy crap is super cheap to buy…oh US you are so backwards hahaha.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Haha I think I would be swayed by the giant pizza slices and burgers I’ve seen pics of! I hate that, why is it so much cheaper to buy unhealthy rubbish?? And then countries moan they have an obesity problem! It’s starting to change a bit here in the UK with cheaper supermarkets like Aldis offering fruit and veg quite cheap which is great!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Yes, here it also depends where you live. In places with higher costs of living the supermarkets are more expensive, so you have to go to bad neighborhoods to get cheaper food :(. Pizza is awesome and in New York we have $1 slices and it’s the best pizza ever!!!

        Like

Leave a Reply

