Monthly Roundup

March Roundup!

This is my first monthly roundup (and it’s a day late…oops, sorry!) This month has been completely crazy, fun and busy! I thought I would do a roundup of a few of the things that have happened this month. So here goes;

I started this blog!

This is the first blog I have ever written and I am enjoying it so much. I feel like I have a new group of friends to talk to which is great as I’m sure my current real life friends are sick of hearing me talk about the gym and healthy eating! I started it as I have always enjoyed writing but didn’t feel like it was part of my life and I wanted that to change. I also wanted to share my fitness journey with others in the hope of keeping myself motivated and on track with my fitness goals. I am definitely finding it works. I have been so consistent with the gym this month, going at least 3 times a week every week. I have also been eating really well (well I was until Easter anyway!) which has made me feel great.

I have also enjoyed exploring the huge world of bloggers. There are so many cool, funny, inspiring blogs out there and I have only just started to discover them. I am so excited about exploring this more over the next few months and really getting involved with the blogging community. Obviously I have a lot to learn about blogging but I have found some great tips on people’s blogs and so far people have been so friendly with plenty of helpful advice and kind comments.

Challenges

In March I set myself some monthly challenges, you can read about them here

I am going to continue setting myself these challenges every month in order to push myself into making changes. The food challenge is a great one for me as I am such a fussy eater. Fish and curry are the 2 main things I don’t like but would love to introduce to my diet (fish because it’s so good for you, curry because everyone in the world likes going out for curry except me!). Therefore every month I will be trying at least one new food and will also be encouraging my daughter to join me in trying new things.

My fit challenge was awesome. It really helped me at the gym to have something to work towards and knowing I needed to write about it on here spurred me on to try my best. I will be continuing with last month’s challenge but also introducing a few new challenges this month too.

Mollie’s Birthday

Birthday cake

It was my beautiful daughter’s 6th birthday yesterday. I don’t know how time moves so quickly, it feels like just yesterday she was a tiny baby but now she is a clever, beautiful, funny little girl with her own mind and opinions on everything.

For her birthday we bought her a new scooter (her old Frozen one was far too babyish!) so looking forward to some dryer weather to take her out on it. Last week she also learnt to ride her bike with no stabilisers so looks like it will be an active summer for her (and me running after her on her bike/scooter).

Seeing progress

Since February I have made a conscious effort to cut out the crappy food I was eating, the afternoon bag of crisps, the pastries for breakfast etc. This along with being a bit more regular at the gym has really had an effect on both my mind and body and March is the month that I really noticed that difference. I really wish I had taken measurements at the start of my journey so I could see if there is much of a difference. The scales say I have lost around a stone but I don’t think it’s good to focus solely on weight loss. Having said that I am very proud of the weight I have lost and have really noticed a difference in how my clothes fit and feel. My mummy tummy has definitely gone down and I was even wearing a pair of size 10 River Island jeans the other day that have been at the back of the drawer so long I had forgotten I ever owned them!

With these body changes I have noticed that I am feeling more confident and happier, a few people have commented that I look slimmer and knowing I have achieved this through hard work rather than a fad diet makes me feel proud of myself.

I have also noticed one other unexpected change. I am not a morning person at all; I literally have to drag myself out of bed every day after hitting the snooze button 75 times. Mike knows better than to even attempt to speak to me in the mornings as all I can manage is one word answers, I literally wake up feeling angry with the world that its morning. But I am noticing that the morning after an evening workout I find it a lot easier to get up, I was even in work by 7.30am one day this week! This is definitely an incentive to get to the gym more regularly during the week.

Plenty of other things happened in March but this post is becoming a bit wordy so I’ll wrap it up! I’m really excited now for April, I have lots of exciting things planned so can’t wait to tell you all about them.

How was your March, did you have a good month? Got anything exciting planned for April? Would love to hear about what you have been up to in the comments below.

Tasha xx

24 thoughts on “March Roundup!

  1. You weren’t alone with the diet changing over Easter. I have had way too much chocolate. I haven’t even started the jogging either. That’s my plan for April. I agree with the blogging community. I think it is something that could become quite addictive.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve had a fair bit of chocolate and been lazy with cooking ad we’ve had lots of family gatherings, it’s nice but looking forward to getting back to normal! Good plan to start in April, good luck with it 🙂 yes I definitely think I’m already becoming addicted!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It seems to be taking up quite a lot of my time. I should be doing some work now; however, I’m writing a new post that could wait until next week. But I don’t want it to.

        Like

      2. Haha and me! I keep a little notebook with me and always writing ideas down for new posts! Need to start remembering to take more photos though, it’s something I always forget to do!

        Like

      3. I always forget to carry a notebook. The novel I’m working on is suffering as well, as it is playing second fiddle to blogging. I’ve even bought a Dummies Guide to Blogging to help me with what to write and how.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Ooh your working on a novel? So exciting! It is hard to split your time, and blogging is just so much fun. That sounds good, I might need to invest in a copy

        Like

      5. I got my book from Amazon. The novel has been a work in progress for ten years. My aim is to get it finished – or at least the first draft this year. However, the blogging is looking more attractive at the moment.

        Like

      6. It’s a romance with dogs at the centre. It’s had so many changes over the 10 years. There are lots of books on blogging from Amazon, so you may find one that is better than the Dummies guide. What got you into blogging?

        Like

      7. Sounds really interesting. I will definitely have a look, I’ve read a few tips online and on other people’s blogs which have been helpful. I’m not sure really as I hadn’t really read many blogs before I started, I just felt the urge to start writing. Now I’ve started I can’t stop!

        Like

      8. Haha yeah I think it should be! I really don’t like the name gymbug, it was just taking so long to think of one and I wanted to get started so I just picked that!

        Like

    1. Thank you 🙂 I’m really happy with the weight loss and think it will stay off as I’ve just made small gradual changes! Haha I had a quick at your blog yesterday, looking forward to reading some more! I can’t get enough of healthy food and fitness talk but most of my friends aren’t really interested in it!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yea same!! Just getting my friend to come to the gym with me is already a task in itself hahah. Sometimes you have to find new avenues of people who are just as fitness geeky as you hahaha.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Haha yeah definitely, think that’s why I like blogging so much! Can unleash all my fitness chatter without annoying anyone! Haha it’s hard enough to get motivated to go to the gym sometimes without having to convince a friend too!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Yes this friend is an interesting one, sometimes she’ll tell me she is coming to the gym and then show up an hour later haha. I’ve learned to just go at a time that is good for me, nobody to depend on my progress but myself.

        Like

      4. Yeah that’s the best thing to do, I’m the same, in the beginning I would only go when my sister was coming with me but now I go when ever I feel like it, if I get to go with her then that’s great but if she can’t come I don’t let that stop me and just go by myself!

        Like

Leave a Reply

