blogging · Uncategorized

The Blogger Recognition Award

I have seriously fallen off the blogging/fitness wagon over the last couple of weeks. I can’t even remember the last time I went to the gym (all my workout clothes are clean so it must have been a while!). The last 2 weekends have involved trips away and it has been hard to get back into healthy eating and exercise. Its crazy how any break to my usual routine can completely ruin my motivation for days afterwards, I really need to get back into it, quickly.

Anyway, moving on to some positive news…The fabulous Running to Milan and the awesome Macandcheeseandwine have both nominated me for the Blogger Recognition Award. I love both of these blogs and have been following them for ages, if you haven’t read them yet get on over there and check them out, go on, right now, you can come back to my post later! Running to Milan is a real inspiration; she is totally smashing her fitness goals. Her whole blog is based on running the distance from Manhatten to Milan (without actually running to Milan) which is over 4000 miles and I think she will have no problem doing it. Macandcheeseandwine is such a funny, honest blog. I totally love her perspective on life and all her posts are entertaining! A massive thank you to both of them for nominating me!

So what is the blogger recognition award and how do you do it?

Here are the rules for the Blogger Recognition award:

Thank the person who nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
Attach the award to your post.
Write a brief story / history of your blog.
A take down of advice to New bloggers.
Nominate 10 other bloggers
Comment on their blogs to notify them of the nomination.

The History of the Gym Bug.

This will be quite a short history as I only started this blog back in March. If I’m honest I started this blog because I was bored in life and felt the need to get myself a hobby.  Before March I had literally read like 3 blogs, which I loved for different reasons. One blog in particular, a running and fitness blog, really got me interested. I actually read her posts for days. I had recently started getting into fitness myself so was excited to learn there was a whole world of people who love fitness and share that with the world using a blog.

I love reading, writing and social media so it seemed like a blog would be the perfect format for me to log and share my fitness journey as well as other aspects of my life. Once I got the idea it took me about a month to be brave enough to actually get my WordPress account set up (the moment I published my first post was so nerve wracking!!) and 3 months later here I am, still blogging and loving it!

Advice to new Bloggers

Hmm this is quite hard as I still consider myself to be a really new blogger and not someone who is in a position to give out advice, but I will give it a shot anyway.

Try and post consistently. This is something I have struggled with over the last few weeks as I have just been so busy and found it hard to dedicate the time to writing posts, but I do know it really makes a difference to the amount of views I get and new visitors I get when I post a few times a week.

Don’t just write about crap. As much as I think you should post consistently, I don’t think you should just write about any old thing, or force yourself to write just to get a post up that day. A few times I have tried to write about a topic that I thought would be popular, but really struggled to get it written and ended up packing it off to the recycling bin never to be seen again. If your heart isn’t in it or you don’t enjoy what your writing about then I think that will come across to your readers.

Social Media is your friend. If you want people to read your blog then you need to do a bit of self-promotion. I’m sure some people are happy to just write their blog for themselves but personally I would like people to read mine, and how will they be able to if they don’t know you’re’ there. I use twitter, Instagram and attempting to use Pinterest to promote my blog and I definitely get quite a bit of traffic from Twitter.

Enjoy it! Most importantly, enjoy it! I love blogging, I love writing, I love reading other people’s blogs, I love the whole blogging community, it’s great. If you don’t enjoy it or writing has become a chore to you then maybe you need to take a step back?

That’s it for my wise words of advice. Now onto my nominations. I have tried to nominate blogs I enjoy reading and to nominate people that haven’t already been nominated, but if you already have then sorry!

  1. Tara McGuinness
  2. Desfitlife
  3. Feds life
  4. Your Average Peahead
  5. Leo’s Mom on the Run
  6. Jems Fitness Blog
  7. Rev2point0
  8. OncebyAlys
  9. Nicocoa
  10. That Girl Tweens
7 thoughts on “The Blogger Recognition Award

  1. What a great post 🙂 Its interesting to learn your thoughts on blogging. My sincere thanks for nominating me. I’ll need a bit of time to pick 10 blogs to nominate!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey there! Thank you so much 🙂 Glad to share the blogosphere with you. I was wondering where you have been. Your posts are a nice reminder for me to keep at it as well! I will post soon to thank you “officially”!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

